Today’s the day!

Reminder: it’s pool day!

Today is the day.

There are only a few hours left.

WorldwideEventPosterThe Worldwide Indexing Event at FamilySearch is underway.

You can read all about it here at The Legal Genealogist, but don’t just read about it — join in the fun!

The event continues today until:

• 9:00 p.m. Atlantic Daylight Time
• 7:59:59 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time
• 6:59:59 p.m. Central Daylight Time
• 5:59:59 p.m. Mountain Daylight Time
• 4:59:59 p.m. Pacific Daylight Time
• 3:59:59 p.m. Alaska Daylight Time
• 1:59:59 p.m. Hawaii Daylight Time

There’s plenty of help available if you haven’t done indexing before — and it doesn’t take long. You can learn and still do a whole batch before the deadline to be counted.

Come on into the indexing pool.

The water’s fine!

Print Friendly
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Today’s the day!

  1. Cindy K. says:

    I have tried and tried to participate, but when I try to download a batch, I keep getting a message that the server is not available.

  2. Amazonite says:

    Their servers are massively overloaded (you might have expected them to beef up for this widely-touted event). I had no luck whatsoever getting on last night after 8 p.m. Eastern. (I had downloaded and indexed a few batches earlier in the day yesterday, so just needed to submit them within the timeframe of the event.)

    However, I signed on this morning shortly after 6 a.m. and had no trouble whatsoever. Keep checking every once in a while, you should be able to get on eventually. Once you do, my suggestion would be for you to download your batch and then work offline to help reduce server overload, then log back on to submit. Good luck!

  3. Ange says:

    I signed on at 9 a.m. eastern as a first time indexer. Found it really easy. Of course, I have 4+ decades of transcribing experience, just haven’t worked in this effort before. Still, by 1 p.m. I had submitted 6 batches with nearly 200 names. And that’s with having to download the program, read all the instructions and print out some of them, watch some videos, and learn about 2 different projects. I had only limited projects from which to choose, even when I tried to download a batch from “all projects” at every level of difficulty – perhaps this was because of server balancing?
    Sure enjoyed the activity and hope others do so, too, today.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>